Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

MWL postseason All-Stars announced

Silver Hawks, Chiefs take up six of 14 spots
August 24, 2005
South Bend and Peoria account for nearly half of the Midwest League's 2005 postseason All-Stars with three apiece, while eight other teams are represented by one player on the 14-player roster released on Wednesday.

South Bend, which entered the final two weeks of the season with the league's best record, is the most prominently featured team. Three Silver Hawks -- first baseman Cesar Nicolas, outfielder Carlos Gonzales and right-handed reliever Matt Elliot -- were voted onto the team, while Gonzales was also named the league's Most Valuable Player and Prospect of the Year, and Mark Haley was tabbed the Manager of the Year.

Gonzales, a 19-year-old Venezuelan, missed much of the 2004 season with a fractured wrist, but has bounced back to hit .302 with 16 home runs and 82 RBIs in 118 games for South Bend this year, ranking in the top 10 in each category.

The league's leading hitter, Peoria second baseman Eric Patterson, is joined by Chiefs outfielder Ryan Harvey and right-hander Sean Gallagher. Harvey won the Midwest League All-Star game Home Run Derby and was recently included in Jonathan Mayo's list of Top 50 Minor League prospects. Gallagher was the starting pitcher for the West All-Stars after beginning the season with a franchise record 40 1/3 scoreless innings. The 19-year-old hurler is 13-5 with a 2.86, ranking first in the league in wins, second in ERA and fourth in strikeouts (131).

Here is the complete roster, as selected by the Midwest League's 14 managers:

1B - Cesar Nicolas (South Bend)
1B - Tonys Gutierrez (Dayton)
2B - Eric Patterson (Peoria)
3B - David Winfree (Beloit)
SS - Matt Tuiasosopo (Wisconsin)
OF - Carlos Gonzales (South Bend)
OF - Ryan Harvey (Peoria)
OF - Javier Herrera (Kane County)
C  - Michael Collins (Cedar Rapids)
DH - John Jaso (SW Michigan)
RH Pitcher - Sean Gallagher (Peoria)
LH Pitcher - Chi-Hung Cheng (Lansing)
RH Reliever - Matt Elliot (South Bend)
LH Reliever - Kevin Ool (Quad Cities)

Most Valuable Player - Carlos Gonzales (South Bend)
Top Prospect - Carlos Gonzales (South Bend)
Manager of the Year - Mark Haley (South Bend)